Welcome to our new web site!

To give our readers a chance to experience all that our new website has to offer, we have made all content freely avaiable, through October 1, 2018.

During this time, print and digital subscribers will not need to log in to view our stories or e-editions.

76 Eagles recognized as Heart Scholar-Athletes

Posted 7/25/23

The Heart of America Athletic Conference announced 1,063 student-athletes from across the conference have been honored for their academic achievements by being named Heart Scholar-Athletes for the …

This item is available in full to subscribers.

Please log in to continue

Log in

76 Eagles recognized as Heart Scholar-Athletes


The Heart of America Athletic Conference announced 1,063 student-athletes from across the conference have been honored for their academic achievements by being named Heart Scholar-Athletes for the 2022-23 academic year.

In order to have qualified for this honor, student-athletes must meet the following criteria: 

• Cumulative GPA of 3.4 or higher (on a 4.0 scale)

• Accumulated a minimum of 60 credit hours (undergraduate and/or graduate), completed at least five semesters, and attended the nominating institution for at least two semesters prior to being nominated

• Have documentation of the student-athlete participating in a varsity competition in the sport for which they are being nominated for

• Student-Athletes competing as graduate students are also eligible for this award

Central finished the year with 76 Heart Scholar-Athletes. For the third-straight year, women’s soccer led the way with 15 selections, followed by softball with 11. Both the volleyball and men’s soccer squads boasted eight total academic standouts. 

To view the complete list of Heart Scholar-Athletes by team for CMU, please see below.


Logan Doody – Business Baseball

Joseph Weatherford – Exercise Science Baseball

Trey Rassenfoss – Sports Management Baseball

Gannon Ruckman – Sports Management

Women’s Basketball

Audrey Graham – English

Curenity Emerson – Exercise Science

Genet Mebratu – Biology

Men’s Basketball

Isaiah May – Criminal Justice

Jayden McGrew – Business

Men’s Cross Country/Track & Field

Exavier Cobum – Accounting 

Zy’shonne Cowans – English 

Kaleb Bramman – Elementary Education

Men’s Track & Field

Joshua Henderson – Chemistry

Mohammaed Nyaoga - Business

Women’s Cross Country/Track & Field

Natalie Garr – Business Women’s

Kailey Johnson – Exercise Science

Madeline Wieseman – Business

Women’s Track & Field

Renee Finke - Biology


Donald Garland – Exercise Science

Joseph Slattery – Social Science Education

Nathaniel Marshall – Biology 

Women’s Golf

Sarah Krenowicz – Sports Management

Men’s Golf

Tiago Swart - Business 

Women’s Soccer

Manuela Polachini – Exercise Science

Raquel Ferreira – Exercise Science AT

Judit Gonzalez Oliveras – Psychology

Kaia Randklev – Biology

Peyton Beem – Chemistry

Grace Faherty – Pre-Health Related Professional

Emma Doyle – Business 

Carly Edwards – Political Science

Max De Armas Columbo – Computer Science

Celine Witt – Accounting

Alexis Ashmore – Elementary Education 

Alicia Zamora – Business

Sandra Jakobsen – Early Childhood Education

Maria Cervello – Business

Laura Riesenbeck – Sports Management

Men’s Soccer

Levi Vasconcelos – Exercise Science

Guilherme Pereira – Business

Sebastian Bocaz Canales – Mathematics

Stefano Campisi – Exercise Science

Vitor Antelo – Pre-Education

Tom Irion – Business

Alessandro Lacerti – Business

Mark Csongradi – Computer Science


Jordyn Ball – Occupational Therapy

Daly Garland – Biology

Breanna Hollowell – Exercise Science AT

Lauren Hill – Pre-Education

Abbie Marshall – Biology

Madison White – Business 

Natalie Guerrero – Middle School Education

Kelena Oots – Business

Montana Stangel – Psychology

Kaylee Parker – Elementary Education

Katelyn Kiser – Biology

Women’s Volleyball

Yenne Schepers – Chemistry

Addison Butler – Mathematics

Annabelle Maassen – Business Women’s

Jessica Mowry – Mathematics

Marina Alonso – Business

Rebecca Neighbors – Criminal Justice

Shea Luby – BSN Program

Krystal Brauner – Child Development

Men’s Wrestling

Jacob Henson – Pre-Education

Brenden Shelton – Biology

Women’s Wrestling

Emmily Patneaud – Pre-Education

Hannah Hall – Educational Studies

Caitlyn Thorne – Exercise Science


No comments on this item Please log in to comment by clicking here